World MMA Awards – The best of the best

World MMA Awards – The best of the best
Posted by: i2media

The standout athletes from the first nine years of the World MMA Awards

It’s almost time to cast your votes for the landmark Tenth Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards, celebrating the best of mixed martial arts in 2017. The shortlists will appear online soon for you to pick your favorites. Keep an eye on, and our social media channels for information on how you can be a part of making history. But here’s a reminder of stars of MMA awards past.

Robbie Lawler is the only man to win Fighter of the Year despite losing during the eligibility period.

Fantastic four
Only Holly Holm has won four awards in one year – Female Fighter, Knockout, Upset and Breakthrough

Conor McGregor and Jon Jones are the only two-time Fighter of the Year winners


There have been 4 kick winners, 4 punches have won and one flying knee. An elbow KO is yet to win Knockout of the Year, but Mike Perry and Matt Brown are in the running to change that this year

The individual with the most awards is Dana White – Leading Man of the Year nine times in a row

One out of nine
The only non-UFC fighter to win Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year was José Aldo, who bucked the trend representing WEC in 2010

Breakthrough Fighters of the Year who ended up as UFC champions, including Chris Weidman, Brock Lesnar, Holly Holm, Jon Jones and Cody Garbrandt