The World MMA Awards Needs You!

The World MMA Awards Needs You!
Posted by: i2media

It’s almost that time of year again when Fighters Only gives you the chance to leave your mark on MMA history.

In the annals of MMA history, 2016 will be remembered for many things. Rematches, there have been plenty of those. Upsets, yep, the odds makers have been under a barrage alright. New champions, for sure, we’ve seen titles change hands more frequently than ever before. But it will also be remembered for dollars too. Four billion, to be exact.

Yes, the year the Ultimate Fighting Championship changed hands for massive money has been one of the most eventful ever. Over the last 12 months, MMA has endured its biggest overhaul in well over a decade – and we’re all still racing to catch up.

We’ve had an explosion of knockouts, submissions, title wars and breakthrough performances inside the rings and cages of the world’s most best promotions, and now it’s time to bring it all together and celebrate the very best of MMA in 2016.

From unbelievable fighters and engaging personalities through to cutting-edge equipment and pioneering coaching, the Fighters Only World MMA Awards was designed to give fans the opportunity to honor their heroes, and for the ninth year in succession, the sport’s own version of the Oscars will be back in fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada.

Returning to the beautiful Venetian Theatre – and once again sponsored by the world’s leading fitness and wellbeing website, – the Ninth Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards is destined to be more glamorous, entertaining and star-studded than ever before.

So, get ready for the most important vote of the year. The nominations for all categories in the Fighters Only World MMA Awards for 2016 are coming soon.

A selection of the most sought after awards:

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis ‘Fighter of the Year’
The list of previous winners reads like a who’s who of MMA’s greatest ever champions, but who’s name will be added to the list after 2016?

Female Fighter of the Year
After Holly Holm completely dominated the podium in 2015, scooping a record four statues, including this one, the field is wide open after one of the most incredible 12 months in women’s MMA.

International Fighter of the Year
Designed to reward the best performer from outside of the Americas, Michael Bisping is a former winner and looks certain to be shortlisted again after his 2016.

Knockout of the Year
Always a hotly contested piece of silverware, this year’s selection of knockouts is already stellar – and we’ve got a few weeks to run yet!

Fight of the Year
The award which always generates the most debate and also the biggest applause at the live ceremony. Getting a silver statue for best fight is the stuff legacies are built upon.

Submission of the Year
Dominated by unusual and rare submissions over the years, it takes something pretty special to take the prize every submission specialist covets most of all.

Comeback of the Year
Just when you think it’s all over… This statue celebrates the the most dramatic and unlikely comebacks either in a fight or following a seemingly career-ending slide.

Upset of the Year
The award no fighter wants to win, but appreciates afterwards. Presented to the biggest underdog success of the year, of which 2016 has had many already.

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year
Named in honor of the iconic Canadian coach, this award has a habit of changing hands every year – but can Rafael Cordeiro make it hat-trick?

Newest Articles